• Introduction

    Ecotone Resilience a démarré son action sur le terrain en août 2015 qui s'organise autour de trois axes :

    • La régénération de la biodiversité marine avec la création d’une aire marine protégée et la fin de la pêche illégale
    • La préservation de la terre avec la mise en place de pratiques régénératrices agricoles et de reforestation
    • L’amélioration des conditions de vie des populations locales, en particulier les communautés Mangyans

    Ecotone Resilience est née de l'association exceptionnelle d'experts dans des domaines très complémentaires:

    de l'écologie marine à l'agrobiologie, en passant par la botanique,

    le développement communautaire, le design et la finance.

    Mission & Objectifs

    L’objectif d’Ecotone Resilience est d'apporter des résultats immédiats qui s’inscrivent dans la durée. Porté par des actions concrètes, que ce soit en réintroduisant des pratiques durables en agriculture ou dans la pêche en protégeant les zones marines, l’objectif est de restaurer et gérer la santé et la productivité des ressources locales afin d’assurer le bien-être durable des communautés.

    La stratégie d’Ecotone suit une approche intégrée, multisectorielle qui documente toutes les étapes de son développement de manière scientifique. Chaque étape et décision majeures sont prises en consultation avec les communautés et le gouvernement local.

  • Projets

  • Projet PILOTE : Abra de Ilog, Mindoro OCCIDENTAL, Philippines

    Emplacement

    Le site du projet pilote est situé dans la localité d'Abra de Ilog. Ce site a été précisément choisi pour sa position stratégique sur le Verde Island Passage, un corridor marin mondialement reconnu pour sa biodiversité extrêmement riche. Souvent appelé le « centre du centre » de la biodiversité marine par nombre de scientifiques, le Verde Island Passage est considéré comme l’équivalent marin de l'Amazonie.

     

    Ce site est idéal pour mener une expérience pilote pour tester l'approche holitistique et l'interdépendance intégrale des univers marins et terrestres par l'établissement d'une aire marine protégée et des pratiques agricoles durables.

    Pourquoi ce site ?

    Les Philippines sont en première ligne du chagement climatique. Leur écosystème qui fait partie de l'un des plus riches de la planète est directement menacé. Abra de Ilog est encore particulièrement protégé grâce à son accès difficile.

     

    Néanmoins, une route côtière est en train d'être construite dans le but de désenclaver Abra de Ilog en la reliant à la partie Est de l'île. Il est critique de minimiser l'impact de la construction sur les écosystèmes tout en aidant les communautés à gérer leurs ressources.

     

    Enfin, le Mindoro est remarquable à cause de la présence d'une importante population indigène appelée Mangyans et le manque d'infrastructures routières.

    Qui est impliqué ?

    Ecotone Resilience rassemble une équipe d'experts et professionnels de milieux de la science, du développement et de la finance. L'équipe travaille en étroite collaboration avec l'Université des Philippines, et avec les équipes de la Municipalité d'Abra de Ilog ainsi que les communautés de Sigman, Udalo, Bugtong situés dans le barangay d'Udalo, l'un des 10 barangays de la Municipalité d'Abra de Ilog.

    Notre objectif

    Créer un réseau humain collaboratif

    L'approche d'Ecotone Resilience est fondée sur la base d'une étroite collaboration entre les parties prenantes au niveau local, national et international. L'objectif est d'assurer le bien-être durable des communautés locales, qu'elles soient indigènes : les Mangyans , ou majoritaires : les Tagalogs en les aidant à restaurer et gérer la santé et la productivité des ressources locales.

    Notre action initiale

    Notre premier objectif est d'augmenter les ressources essentielles

    • Création d'une Aire Marine Protégée qui permettra la regénérescence du stock de poissons.
    • Implémentaiton d'une agriculture durable et programme de reforestation des terres côtières et des montagnes. 
    • Amélioration du bien-être des communautés en favorisant des actions sur l'emploi, la valorisation des productions locales, la santé, la nutrition.

    Dans le but de créer des liens commerciaux

    Pour tisser un réseau économique inexistant

    • Création d'une économie locale en identifiant des produits locaux à forte demande nationale dans un premier temps, internationale dans un second temps en développant une filière éthique durable. 
    • Développement d'artisanat et de produits traditionnels.
    • Explorer des opportunités d'écotourisme.

    Autonomiser les communautés

    En catalysant les opportunités

    • Renforcement des communautés : CBO, coopérative, ONG

    • Activités génératrices de revenus pour les habitants
    • Droits fonciers / Accès 
    • Sécurité alimentaire / Nutrition et santé

    • Accès à l'éducation et à la technologie

    • Eau et gestion des déchets / Énergie propre

    Quelles étapes après le projet pilote ?

    Les grandes étapes du projet

      • Janvier à Décembre 2016  - Etude de faisabilité et engagement auprès des communautés.
      • Janvier 2017 à Décembre 2018 - Implémentation du modèle holistique à Abra de Ilog avec des possibilités de répliquer le modèle d’intervention sur quatre autres sites similaires. Lancement de la norme ISO, initiatives agroforestières, solaires, énergie verte et travail communautaire.
      • A partir de Janvier 2019 - Répliquer le modèle à l’échelle nationale auprès des 1000 Aires Marines Protégées (par le biais exclusif de la norme ISO).
    • newsletter

    • NOUS SUIVRE

      Nos progrès les plus récents

    • VOUS SOUHAITEZ NOUS AIDER OU PARTICIPER ?

    • NOTRE EQUIPE

      NOTRE EQUIPE SUR LE TERRAIN A UDALO, MINDORO OCCIDENTAL, PHILIPPINES

      Poroy Pangilinan

      Coordinateur

      Poroy a baigné dans le monde du développement environnemental et communautaire depuis des décennies. En tant que coordinateur dans des communautés diverses aux Philippines, il a interagi avec des paysans, des pêcheurs, des étudiants, des représentants du service public, des associations et des entreprises locales et internationales. De 2008 à 2016, Poroy a travaillé pour la Fondation ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya où il était en charge de la zone Kalikasan en charge de lutter contre la pêche illégale.

      Poroy enrichit l'équipe d'Ecotone Resilience de ses qualités multiples que ce soit en travail social, relations et santé publiques, environnement, etc. Poroy parle parfaitement l'anglais et le tagalog et maîtrise de nombreux dialectes du Mindoro.

      Nemesio Evangelista

      Matériaux durables

      Nemesio est un expert en matériaux durables, en particulier le bambou dont il a cultivé et exploité plusieurs variétés sur l'île de Mindoro. Il a une connaissance approfondie des plantes locales et son jardin est le témoignage de son talent de jardinier. Très enthousiaste, comme son épouse Christine, pour améliorer les moyens de subsistance de la communauté locale, il a créé la première coopérative agricole dans la région en 1998. En véritable maître artisan, Nemesio peut construire des œuvres d'art avec son Bolo, couteau traditionnel philippin.

       

      Christine Evangelista

      Nutrition

      Christine vit à Bugtong avec son mari Nemesio dans une maison qui pourrait être un modèle en terme de durabilité et de jardinage. Elle est active sur de nombreux fronts et foisonne d’idées nouvelles pour améliorer le bien-être de la communauté. Elle a organisé des programmes d'alimentation scolaire pour les enfants Mangyans dans le Barangay avec le soutien de la mairie. Elle a formé et organisé des groupes de femmes dans les activités artisanales valorisant divers matériaux et techniques comme l'artisanat autour de la noix de coco. Sa passion pour le chant lui a valu de recevoir de nombreux premiers prix dans les concours de chant.

      Carina Garcia

      Traductrice

      Carina est un membre actif et engagé de sa communauté: en plus d'être mère de cinq enfants et d'aider son mari dans ses terres agricoles, elle a été conseillère du Barangay pendant 3 ans et aide maintenant le gouvernement local dans le travail administratif et la logistique. Ayant travaillé dans la région touristique de Puerto Galera pendant 2 ans, elle maîtrise l'anglais et est une traductrice très précieuse. Carina facilite les discussions et les interviews lors d'ateliers, de formations, de rencontres avec les pêcheurs et les agriculteurs.

      Claire Bossard

      Nutrition & Santé

      Claire est biologiste et ingénieur chimiste. Passionnée par les sujets de sécurité alimentaire et de santé publique, elle a également fait un master en Nutrition Humaine et Santé à l'Université de Bordeaux. Après ses études, elle s'est lancée dans le volontariat avec une première expérience dans l'enseignement aux enfants en Indonésie. Claire aime s'intégrer à la vie locale et être proche des populations. Sa mission avec Ecotone Resilience à Abra de Ilog est de développer l'économie locale par l'exploitation et la transformation de produits agricoles en produits à plus forte valeur ajoutée destinés la filière éthique locale et internationale. L'objectif principal étant d'impliquer la population locale afin de créer un réseau économique durable.

      Fidel Silan

      Pêche & Logistique

      Notre lieutenant de confiance et fidèle accompagnateur dans tout le barangay Udalo, Fidel est un pêcheur qui comprend mieux que quiconque que la biodiversité est menacée si elle n'est pas protégée durablement. Fidel a une connaissance intime des écosystèmes, qu'ils soient marins, terrestres et son implication rend la concrétisation du projet possible. Il est une des parties prenantes clefs et joue un rôle central dans l'intégration de l'équipe d'Ecotone Resilience au sein des communautés dans leur pluralité, tant les communautés Mangyans (indigènes) que les Tagalogs. Fidel parle Tagalog et Anglais.

      Antoine Drouillard

      Agriculture & Reforestation

      Antoine a travaillé 5 ans sur des politiques et programmes d’investissement sur la forêt et la lutte contre le changement climatique en Afrique, où il a conseillé le gouvernement de la République Démocratique du Congo pour la conception d’un programme régional de réduction de la déforestation et de développement de l’agriculture durable. Dans cette position, il a collaboré étroitement avec le gouvernement, les bailleurs, la société civile locale et internationale et le secteur privé et a acquis une expérience importante en terme de coordination, négociation et résolution des conflits.

      Antoine est également impliqué dans un projet de ferme et de restauration biologique dans le sud de la France.

    • L'EQUIPE FONDATRICE

      Professor Helen Yap

      Systèmes Complexes Marins

      En s'impliquant dans Ecotone Resilience, Helen fait honneur à l'héritage laissé par son père Emmanuel qui a oeuvré toute sa vie durant pour préserver la richesse de la biodiversité tant au sein des communautés indigènes locales que d'un point de vue de la nature. Helen est professeur au "Marine Science Institute" de l'Université des Philippines où elle enseigne depuis plus de trnete ans. Dans les années 1990, elle a dirigé à deux reprises le Groupe d'Experts sur les Aspects de Protection Marine (GESAMP), rattaché aux Nations Unies. Helen a reçu l'ordre du mérite Philippin qui honore les Femmes de Science (TOWNS).

      Liwanag Sales Fromont

      Pathologie des Plantes

      Liwanag est Philippine et vit en France depuis plus de vingt ans. Elle est spécialisée dans la pathologie végétale et la micologie. Elle a commencé sa carrière aux Philippines en tant que chercheuse à l'Université des Philippines - Los Baños qu département en charge de protection des cultures et des espèces avant de partir comme chercheuse volontaire au Sénégal, en Afrique pour l'Agence de Développement du Riz pour l'Afrique de l'Ouest. Diplomée en Sciences et en Agriculture, Liwanag a cinq enfants. Outre le français et l'anglais qu'elle maitrise parfaitement, elle parle sept dialectes philippins.

      Elsa Ligaya Dingkuhn

      Coordinatrice & Agriculture

      Elsa est de nationalité Allemande et Philippine, elle a néanmoins grandi en Afrique et en France où elle a suivi des études de management agricole, spécialisée dans l'agriculture paysane et organique. Elsa a beaucoup travaillé avec des agriculteurs en les a accompagnant dans la mutation de systèmes traditionnels à des modèles paysans. Elle a une approche basée sur la collaboration et l'auto-évaluation afin d'identifier les zones d'amélioration (qualité de vie, finances, techniques) tout en passant à l'agriculture bio. Sa connaissance solide de l'agriculture et de la gestion de la terre permet d'aborder la transition agro-écologique avec succès.

      Valerie Daoud Henderson

      Finance & Environnement

      Valérie a une carrière de plus de vingt ans dans la finance. Passée chez Morgan Stanley, puis dans des fonds d'investissement, elle s'est spécialisée dans les investissements durables à fort impact sociétal et environnemental. Sa connaissance fine du secteur financier apporte une vision concrète aux critères financiers du projet, son profil de risque et son impact tant d'un point de vue financier que sociétal et environnemental. Valérie est passionnée par la protection de l'environnement et par dessus tout à créer des liens et des passerelles entre des secteurs qui ont des a priori négatifs les empêchant de se connecter efficacement.

      Cesar Jung-Harada

      Science Citoyenne

      César Harada est un inventeur-entrepreneur Franco-Japonais basé à Hong Kong. CEO-fondateur de MakerBay (Hong Kong MakerSpace for Social and Environmental Impact), il y transmet sa passion pour la Science Citoyenne, les Scoutbots et Protei INC (Ocean Robotics). César consacre son temps et une bonne partie de sa vie à explorer et protéger les océans par le biais de technologies ouvertes. César a été un MIT project leader, il est TED Senior Fellow, GOOD 100, IBM Figure of Progress, Unreasonable at Sea Fellow. Soutenu par la les fondations Shuttleworth et Ocean Exchange, César est persuadé que la nature, l'être humain et la technologie peuvent se développer en parfaite harmonie.

      Raymond Dizon

      Entrepreneur & Science

      Raymond "Richie" a vécu dans de nombreux pays avant de s'établir définitivement dans le pays de ses origines., à Manille, où il vit avec sa famille. Il a étudié le commerce à la New York University et les Sciences de l'Environnement à l'Université Autonome de Barcelone. Passionné par la nature et le sport, il gère une entreprise d'immoblier et des actifs miniers. Richie étudie pour son PhD en systèmes naturels complexes. Ses passions pour la plongée, le VTT, la planche à voile le ramènent constamment à la nature. Richie est parfaitement trilingue en anglais, espagnol et tagalog.

      Tarek Toubale

      Finance & Développement

      Tarek a décidé il y a une dizaine d'années de mettre à contribution ses connaissances et son professionnalisme au secteur du développement. Après une carrière chez Morgan Stanley où il était en charge de la la division Equity, il a mis son énergie au service de grandes ONGs, et plus récemment pour Karuna-Shechen, fondée par Matthieu Ricard. Malgré son implication dans plusieurs projets de développement, Tarek trouve le temps d'enseigner le yoga et les échecs, notamment auprès d'enfants de mileux défavorisés.

      Dr Clément Dumont

      Biologie Marine

      Clément est biologiste marin et a par le passé mis en place la gestion de trois Aires Marines Protégées au Mexique, au Chili et en Malaisie en collaboration étroite avec les pêcheurs et les communautés qui les entourent. Clément a été responsable de pluieurs projets de développement durable en collaboration avec de grandes Universités. Détenteur d'un PhD en biologie de l'Université de Laval au Canada et un post-doc de l'Université de Stanford, il a ensuite enseigné à l'Université de Hong Kong entre 2008 et 2011 avant de se lancer dans un projet entrepreneurial et sportif. Il n'est pas rare que Clément coure des trails de 100km+.

    • SANS EUX NOUS N'EN SERIONS PAS LA AUJOURD'HUI

      Jonathan Locqueville

      Connectivité & Agriculture

      Jonathan étudie l'écologie à l'Ecole Normale Supérieure à Paris où il se spécialise dans l'interconnexion entre les domaines de la science, de la philosophie et de la sociologie. Passionné d'agriculture qu'il voit comme un des défis majeurs de notre avenir, Jonathan s'efforce de comprendre comment les terres agricoles d'Udalo sont utilisées par le biais d'images satellites et la modélisation des réseaux écologiques. Il nous permettra de mieux comprendre le phénomène de l'érosion et le véritable potentiel de durabilité agricole. Jonathan aime la randonnée et la cuisine des plantes sauvages . Il aimerait par dessus tout devenir un scientifique-agriculteur.

      Marine Servonnat

      Conservation & Ecologie

      Marine est une écologiste spécialisée dans la conservation. De nationalité française, elle a obtenu un master en conservation et restauration de la biodiversité à l'Université d'Anvers en Belgique et a fait sa thèse sur l'impact sur la biodiversité marine des espèces de poissons envahissants en Grèce. Marine a également fait des recherches sur les tortues marines et a travaillé avec l'unité de recherche sur la biodiversité de NMMU à George en Afrique du Sud. Marine a beaucoup oeuvré au sein d'Ecotone Resilience pour mettre en oeuvre l'Aire Marine Protégée, ainsi que mettre sur pied avec Ryan d'un projet pilote de gestion des déchets dans l'école de Bugtong.

      Ryan Kaye

      Conservation & Restoration

      Après avoir obtenu ses diplômes de premier cycle en Afrique du Sud, Ryan a obtenu un MSc (Biodiversité, Conservation et Restauration) de l'Université d'Anvers en Belgique. Ayant grandi en Afrique et étudié en Europe, Ryan a eu envie d'obtenir de partir explorer l'Asie où il est parti en tant que volontaire. Ryan travaille sur la mise en œuvre de l'Aire Marine Protégée et le développement d'une stratégie de gestion des déchets dans l'école de Bugtong avant de la généraliser sur tout le site.

       

    All Posts
    ×

• Introduction

    The Ecotone Resilience initiative began in the summer of 2015 with an approach built around three strategic pillars:

    • The regeneration of marine biodiversity with the formation of a Marine Protected Area and the end of illegal fishing
    • The preservation of the land with the promotion of regenerative agroforestry practices and organic agriculture
    • Improved livelihood for the local populations with a focus on indigenous communities

    Ecotone Resilience is born from the exceptional association of hands-on experts from a wide range of fields:

    from marine ecology, agro-biology, botany, community development,

    design engineering and finance.

    Mission & Objective

    The goal of the Ecotone Resilience model is to demonstrate that advanced sustainable practices produce much better quality production than the current ones resulting in better long term results, because it relies on natural productivity and resilience of bio-diverse systems that constantly replenish the natural resources instead of irremediably deplete them.

    The core objective of Ecotone Resilience is the pursuit of an integrated, scientifically documented, multi-sector approach in close consultation with the local communities and local governmental teams. Ultimately by understanding the networks of livelihood, the state of the coral reef and the land, we will be able to determine how interventions can help conserve nature as well as improve quality of life.

     

  • Projects

  • Pilot Project : Abra de Ilog, OCCIDENTAL Mindoro, Philippines

    Where is it?

    The pilot site is located near Abra de Ilog on the Verde Island Passage. This remote area of Mindoro island harbours an extremely rich marine and terrestrial biodiversity.

     

    It is an ideal site to conduct a pilot model in order to test an integrated approach around an established Marine Protected Area and sustainable farming practices.

    Why this site? 

    The Philippines are among the countries first in line to face the consequences of climate change. This creates a direct threat to one of the most diverse ecosystems in the world. Abra de Ilog stands out as one of the most pristine areas thanks to its remoteness.

     

    However, a major road is under construction to connect Abra de Ilog to the Eastern part of the island. At this juncture, we believe it is critical to minimize the impact on the terrestrial and marine ecosystems and help the communities manage their resources.

     

    Finally, Mindoro is remarkable for the presence of a large indigenous population called Mangyans and the lack of road infrastructure.

    Who will work on this?

    Ecotone Resilience core team brings together marine biologists, ecology scientists, sustainable farming , development and finance experts.

    The team is working closely with the University of the Philippines, with the support of the Municipality of Abra de Ilog as well as local communities in Sigman, Udalo, Bugtong and all the other stakeholders.

    What is our goal?

    To create a powerful human resources support network 

    By structuring a collaborative and productive human architecture between local, national and international stakeholders, from planning, to execution, to profit sharing, Ecotone Resilience aims at securing the long term wellbeing of the local communities, Mangyans and Tagalogs, by elaborating with them a set of practices to assess, restore and manage the health and productivity of local resources.

      What are we going to do there? 

      Our first objective is to increase local essential resources by:​

      • Creating an MPA and implement sustainable fishing practices methodology to foster a strong rebound of marine biology balance and fast replenishment of fish stocks.
      • Implementing adapted sustainable farming and agro-forestry practices of the coastal lands and mountain slopes areas aiming at soil and land biology restoration; diversifying organic food production. 
      • Protecting and improving livelihood of local communities focusing on job creation, local production distribution, health and nutrition. 

      To create market links

      And create an economic network by:

      • Creating a local economy, identifying and optimizing high-return products, building  sustainable distribution chains with local partners first and international partners afterwards, developing a fair trade scheme.
      • Developing traditional craftsman skills and products
      • Exploiting ecotourism opportunities.

      Increase local skills and human resources:

      Catalyse oportunities:

      • Community political empowerment : CBO, cooperative, NGO 
      • Income generating activities for locals
      • Land rights / Access 
      • Food security / Nutrition and health 
      • Access to education and technology 
      • Water and waste management / Clean energy
      • Climate change emergency response

      This is a pilot project, what is next?

      Once the pilot project is validated (expected in 6-12 months time), there will be the following phases:

        • January to December 2016  - Feasibility study and community engagement work.
        • January 2017 to December 2018 - Implementation of our holistic model in greater Abra de Ilog and replication in four other similar sites. Launch of ISO norm, agro-forestry initiatives, solar and green energy, community-based work.
        • From January 2019 onwards- Scale up of the holistic model at a national level throughout the 1,000 MPAs (exclusively via the ISO norm certification).
      • NEWSLETTER

        to receive previous newsletters, please send us a mail : info@ecotoneresilience.org

      • WANT TO HELP OR DONATE?

      • People

        ECOTONE RESILIENCE TEAM ON SITE IN UDALO, OCCIDENTAL MINDORO, PHILIPPINES

        Nemesio Evangelista

        Bamboo & Handicrafts

        Nemesio has been involved in sustainable materials during all his life, especially bamboo which he grew and traded several varieties on the island of Mindoro. He has an extensive knowledge of local plants and his garden is testimony to his gardening talent. Very eager, as his wife Christine, to improve the livelihood of the local community, he set up the first farmers cooperative in the area in 1998. A master craftsman, Nemesio can build pieces of art with the simple use of his Bolo (the local traditional knife).

        Christine Evangelista

        Nutrition & Waste

        Christine lives in Bugtong with her husband Nemesio in a home that could be a model in term of sustainability and gardening. She is active on many fronts, bubbling with new ideas to improve the community well being. She has been organizing school feeding programs for indigenous children in the Barangay with the support of the LGU. She has trained and organized groups of women in handicrafts activities using various material and techniques such as coco crafts. Christine's passion for singing brought her many distinguished first prices in singing contests.

         

        Carina Garcia

        Translator

        Carina is an active and committed member of her community : aside of being a mother of five, and helping her husband on their farmland, she was a Barangay Councilor for 3 years and is now assisting the Local Government in administrative work and logistics. Having worked in the touristic area of Puerto Galera for 2 years, she mastered her English skills and is a very precious translator, Carina acts as facilitator during workshops, training, meetings, and various interviews with the fishermen, farmers, etc.

        Fidel Silan

        Fishing & Logistics

        Our lieutenant in Udalo, Fidel is a fisherman who understands like no one else that the biodiversity is at risk if not properly managed from this point on-wards. Fidel has a deep understanding and on the ground knowledge of the ecosystems whether maritime or terrestrial and is very valuable to the success of the project. He is one of the key stakeholders and plays a key role within the local communities in their variety (mainly Tagalog and Mangyans). Fidel speaks both Tagalog and English.

        Guillaume Bertrand

        Permaculture

        "Kuya G" is our permaculture specialist focusing on setting up nurseries, kitchen gardens, new crops, and waste management.

        Guillaume is currently building a demo farm and establishing a network of kitchen gardens in order to bring a practical and sustainable answer to malnutrition problems due to lack of locally grown basic and healthy food.

        Roda Evangelista

        Field & VCO

      • ECOTONE RESILIENCE FOUNDING TEAM

        Professor Helen Yap

        Marine Complex Systems

        On Helen’s side, this initiative has its seeds in the efforts of her father, Emmanuel, during his lifetime. She also acknowledges the full unquestioning support of her family. Helen is a professor at the Marine Science Institute, University of the Philippines where she began her career over thirty years ago. In the 1990s, she was twice Chair of the Joint Group of Experts on the Scientific Aspects of Marine environmental Protection (GESAMP), an advisory body to the entire United Nations system. She is an awardee for science of “The Outstanding Women in the Nation’s Service” (TOWNS) of the Republic of the Philippines.

        Liwanag Sales Fromont

        Plant Pathology

        Liwanag is Filipina. She is a specialist in plant pathology and mycology. She has worked at the National Crop Protection Center in Los Banos, University of the Philippines and the Department of Plant Pathology, Bureau of Plant Industry before she volunteered as a researcher for the West African Rice Development Agency in Senegal. She received her diploma from UP in Sciences and Agriculture. Liwanag is a mother of five and speaks both English and French and seven Filipino dialects.

        Elsa Ligaya Dingkuhn

        Organic Agriculture

        Elsa is German and Filipina. She grew up in Africa and completed her organic agronomy and farm management degree in France, focusing on sustainable agriculture. Elsa has worked extensively with farmers, accompanying them towards a holistic understanding of their farm-system. Her work emphasizes on a community based approach of self-assessment mechanisms, to help farmers identify room for improvement (quality of life, financial and tehnical) while converting to organic set-up. She brings a solid hands-on understanding of agricultural land management that aims at catalyzing agro-ecological transition.

        Valerie Daoud Henderson

        Finance & Environment

        Valerie has been in finance for most of her twenty+ years professional career. Over the past ten years, she has specialized in sustainable investments with high social and environmental impact. Her intimate knowledge of the financial sector brings a concrete vision to the project financial dynamics, its risk profile and its impact from a financial, social and environmental aspects. Valerie is a passionate advocate of bridging the gap between finance, people and sustainable projects.

        Cesar Jung-Harada

        Citizen Science

        Cesar Harada is a French-Japanese environmentalist, inventor and entrepreneur based in Hong Kong. CEO of MakerBay (Hong Kong MakerSpace for Social and Environmental Impact) where he teaches Citizen Science, Scoutbots and Protei INC (Ocean Robotics). Cesar is dedicating his life to explore and protect the ocean with open technologies. Cesar is a Former MIT project leader, TED Senior Fellow, GOOD 100, IBM Figure of Progress, Unreasonable at Sea Fellow, Shuttleworth foundation and Ocean Exchange grantee. Cesar believes that nature, human and technology can thrive in harmony.

        Raymond Dizon

        Entrepreneur & Science

        Of Filipino and Spanish descent, Raymond lived in many countries before settling in Manila where he lives with his family. He studied business in New York University and Environmental Science in Autonomous University of Barcelona. While his passion is sports and nature, he is dedicated to his real estate development and mining business. Raymond is a PhD candidate and specializes in studying natural systems. He loves diving, windsurfing and mountain biking. Raymond speaks Tagalog, English and Spanish fluently.

        Tarek Toubale

        Finance & Development

        Tarek decided to bring his deep knowledge of the financial world to the development field. After a career at Morgan Stanley where he was managing director of the equity division, Tarek worked for several high profile NGOs and most recently headed Karuna-Shechen, Matthieu Ricard’s NGO. Despite his involvement in several development projects, Tarek finds the time to teach yoga and to share his chess passion with children in developing countries.

        Dr Clement Dumont

        Marine Biology

        Clement is a marine biologist who has managed three MPAs in Mexico, Chile and Malaysia in close collaboration with the local fishermen. Over the years Clement has been responsible for several sustainable projects working closely with universities. He holds a PhD in biology from Laval University, Canada and post-doc from Stanford University. He had a Research Assistant Professor position at the University of Hong Kong between 2008 and 2011. In his free time, Clement likes to challenge himself with 100km trail running races.

      • ECOTONE RESILIENCE WOULD NOT BE WHERE IT IS TODAY WITHOUT THEM

        Yves Richez

        Semiotics & Anthropology

        Yves conducts research in the field of semiotics and anthropology. In 2016 he launched the Diderot Project which aims to document ancestral and indigenous knowledge around the globe and has naturally found an inspiring source within the Mangyans. Yves is also the founder and CEO of Talent Reveal, a company that has developed a unique approach and set of tools for human resources management heralded for its efficiency and originality. They currently advise and assist a wide array of international firms.

        Yves is a keen martial art expert and is passionate about helping vulnerable people, dedicating a portion of his company's profit to support indigenous communities. Yves holds a PhD.

        Jonathan Locqueville

        Connectivity & Agriculture

        Jonathan is currently studying for his master in ecology at Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris focusing his research on interconnectivity between science, philosophy and society. Passionate about agriculture as one of our future’s key challenges, Jonathan endeavors to understand how the land is currently used in the pilot zone by using satellite images and modeling ecological networks. It will allow us understand better the erosion phenomenon and the true potential for agricultural sustainability.

        Jonathan enjoys hiking and cooking wild plants and will do anything he can to become a scientific-farmer.

        Marine Servonnat

        Conservation & Ecology

        Marine is a French national conservation ecologist. She did a master in conservation and restoration of biodiversity at the University of Antwerp, in Belgium and conducted her thesis on the impact on invasive fish species on fish biodiversity in Greece. She also has experience with sea turtles and worked with the Sustainable Research Unit of NMMU in George, South Africa. Marine worked on the implementation of an MPA and on a waste management pilot project with Ecotone Resilience.

        Ryan Kaye

        Conservation & Restoration

        After completing his undergraduate and honours degrees in South Africa, Ryan went on to obtain a MSc (Biodiversity, Conservation and Restoration) from the University of Antwerp in Belgium. Having grown up in Africa and studied in Europe, Ryan was keen to get his first experience in Asia with Ecotone Resilience and  worked on the implementation of the MPA and the development of a waste management strategy on site.

        Claire Bossard

        Nutrition & Health

        Claire is a French Biologist and Chemical engineer. She also did a master in Human Nutrition and Health at the University of Bordeaux. Recently, she dedicated to voluntary service with a first experience in teaching English to children in Indonesia. She liked living the local life and being close to the population. Her mission with Ecotone Resilience in Abra de Ilog is to develop the local economy by the exploitation of agricultural resources to make products with high added value. The main objective is to implicate the local population to create a sustainable network.

        Antoine Drouillard

        Reforestation & Agriculture

        Antoine has worked for 5 years on Forest and Climate Change mitigation policies and investment programs in Africa, including advising the government of Democratic Republic of Congo to design a large regional program to reduce deforestation and develop sustainable agriculture where he collaborated closely with stakeholders from government, donors, international and local civil society and private sectors and gained a strong experience in coordination, negotiation and conflict resolution.

        In his free time, Antoine is involved in an organic farming and catering project in south of France.

        Poroy Pangilinan

        MPA Coordinator

        Poroy has been immersed for as long as he can remember in community and environmental development. As a community manager, he has worked with farmers, fishermen, students, public servants, local and international organizations and businesses. From 2008 to 2016, as the area manager for the Bantay Kalikasan (Nature Watch) department of ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya Foundation Inc, Poroy organized the Masbate municipal council to address illegal fishing.

        Poroy brings to Ecotone Resilience many valuable skills in social work, procurement, governmental relationships, livelihood programs, etc. Poroy speaks English, Tagalog and many indigenous dialects from Mindoro.

        Klarizze Anne Puzon

        Environmental Economics

        Klarizze is an applied microeconomist. Her work lies along the interface of natural resource economics, public economics (e.g. political economy) and development. Klarizze utilises theoretical and empirical methods, especially laboratory and field experiments, as tools. Her recent research focuses on the interplay between sudden abundance/scarcity in natural resources and institutional change (e.g. political conflict, technological adoption, property rights protection).

         

        Klarizze holds a MSc from Toulouse School of Economics and a PhD from Université de Montpellier. Currently she is affiliated to the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences.

      All Posts
      ×